Thursday, December 24, 2009

The Metro Manila Film Festival

The Metro Manila Film Festival (it was first named as Metropolitan Film Festival) premiered on September 21, 1975 and the first film that was awarded Best Picture was Augusto Buenaventura’s Diligan mo ng Hamog ang Uhaw na Lupa.

Former Philippine President Joseph Estrada won the Best Actor while Charito Solis won the Best Actress Award for Araw Araw, Gabi-Gabi.

In 1977, Metropolitan Film Festival was changed to Metro Manila Film Festival and Celso Ad Castillio’s Burlesk Queen copped 95% of all awards including a Best Actress win for Vilma Santos (now the governor of Batangas).

For most awards, they are: Nora Aunor (7 awards), Christopher De Leon (6 awards) and Vilma Santos (4 awards).

Fernando Poe Jr. never won an acting/director awards on his Panday series.

Sharron Cuneta grabbed the Best Acting Award in Crying Ladies while Maricel Soriano bagged 2 Best Actress Awards.

No comments: