Sunday, July 10, 2005

The Canary Islands in the Pacific are named after what animal?

The Latin name was Insularia Canaria——Island of the Dogs.

The Canary Islands are an archipelago of seven islands of volcanic origin in the Atlantic Ocean, off the northwestern coast of Africa (Morocco and Western Sahara). The islands belong to Spain, and form an autonomous community of that country. The islands are also claimed by Morocco along with Ceuta and Melilla.

No comments: